Patrick Odongo returns as Shujaa name team for final Challenger Series

10th May 2024

The third and final leg of the 2024 Challenger Series will be held in Germany.

Patrick Odongo. PHOTO| World Rugby
Patrick Odongo. PHOTO| World Rugby
  • Patrick Odongo makes his comeback after missing the second leg due to an injury.
  • Herman Humwa and Brian Tanga have also been selected by head coach Kevin Wambua.
  • Shujaa need to finish inside the top four to stand a chance of gaining romotion back to the World Series.

The men’s national 7s team head coach Kevin Wambua has named a star-studded squad ahead of the final leg of the 2024 HSBC World Rugby Challenger Series set for Munich, Germany between from 18-19 May.

Wambua has made three changes to the squad which competed at the second outing of the three-legged event staged in Montevideo, Uruguay in March.

Among the changes is the inclusion of fast-rising winger Patrick Odongo who missed the second leg because of injury-related issues.

Herman Humwa and Brian Tanga have also made it to the squad with the former being included in the team for the first time this year.

Play here and stand a chance of winning the over 44 Million SportPesa Midweek Jackpot

Tanga on the other hand has recovered from sickness which made him miss the trip to Uruguay. The trio have been selected at the expense of Ben Salem, Dennis Abukuse and Elvis Olukusi.

The squad which is co-captained by Tony Omondi and Vincent Onyala also has George Ooro, Lamech Ambetsa, Nygel Amaitsa, John Okoth, Samuel Asati, Chrisant Ojwang and Kevin Wekesa.

Shujaa, who have been grouped in Pool C alongside Chile, Portugal and Japan, currently sit second in the log with 36 points behind Uruguay.

A win for the team in the event will earn them a ticket to the relegation/promotion play off scheduled for Madrid in June.

ALSO READ: From online torture to death threats –Kipchoge reveals depth of abuse on the aftermath of Kiptum’s demise

Meanwhile, the Kenya Lionesses management have handed Edith Nairaka and Freshia Odour their Challenger Series debuts.

The duo will replace star player Janet Okello and Grace Okulu who were not given permission by their respective clubs.

Shujaa Squad

Tony Omondi (co-captain), Kevin Wekesa, Vincent Onyala (co-captain), Brian Tanga, Herman Humwa, George Ooro, Lamech Ambetsa, Nygel Amaitsa, Chrisant Ojwang, Patrick Odongo, John Okoth, Samuel Asati

Lionesses Squad

Freshia Oduor, Judith Okumu, Terry Ayesa, Stella Wafula, Sinaida Nyachio, Phoebe Akinyi, Maureen Muritu, Edith Nariaka, Sharon Auma, Sheila Chajira (captain), Christabel Lindo, Naomi Amuguni

ALSO READ: SportPesa launch revolutionary Tujiamini Initiative to nurture talent