Patrick Odongo dropped as Shujaa name squad for Uruguay Challenger Series

28th February 2024

Head coach Wambua made five changes to the travelling squad to Uruguay.

Patrick Odongo. PHOTO| World Rugby
Patrick Odongo. PHOTO| World Rugby
  • Shujaa won the opening round of the 2024 HSBC Challenger in Dubai back in January.
  • Five players who were in that squad have been dropped for the second assignment.
  • Three players are in line for their debut in Uruguay.

The men’s national sevens team to the second round of the HSBC Challenger 2024 taking place in Montevideo, Uruguay has been named.

Head coach Kelvin Wambua has made five changes to the side that won the cup final at January’s opening round in Dubai with Menengai Oilers ace Dennis Abukuse and Ben Salem returning to the side while Lamec Ambetsa, Chrisant Ojwang and Elvis Olukusi in line for their debuts in South America.

Missing out from the Dubai winning squad is fast-rising winger Patrick Odongo who top-scored with 11 tries in the opening outing.

Play here and stand a chance of winning the over 29 Million SportPesa Midweek Jackpot

Odongo is recovering from an injury sustained during Daystar Falcons’ KRU Championship 39-12 victory against Kabarak University three weeks ago.

Kabras Sugar’s scrumhalf Brian Tanga has also been omitted from the squad and is recovering from illness while Festus Shiasi, William Mwanji and Brian Mutugi are not in the travelling team.

In Uruguay, Shujaa will take on 2023 Challenger champions Tonga along with Georgia and Portugal in Pool A.

Pool B sees Dubai runners-up Chile together with Olympic-qualified Japan as well as Hong Kong China and Mexico.

ALSO READ: Bling, Fadhee, Sewe: The Kenya 7s Bench Brewed Over 18 Years of Friendship

Dubai bronze medalists Uruguay, who will also compete at the Olympic Games Paris 2024, are in a very competitive-looking Pool C where they will play Germany, Uganda and Papua New Guinea.

The top two from each pool as well as the two best third-placed finishers will qualify for the knockout stages with quarter-finals and semi-finals leading to the third place and gold medal matches.

The event is set to take place at Estadio Charrúa in Montevideo, Uruguay from 8-10 March.

Shujaa Travelling Team

Vincent Onyala (KCB, Co-Captain), Tony Omondi (Mwamba, Co-Captain), Kevin Wekesa (Kabras Sugar), John Okoth (Menengai Oilers), George Ooro (Strathmore Leos), Nygel Amaitsa (Strathmore Leos), Samuel Asati (KCB), Dennis Abukuse ( Menengai Oilers), Ben Salem (Nondescripts), Chrisant Ojwang (Nakuru, debut), Lamec Ambetsa (Kabras Sugar, debut), Elvis Olukusi (KCB, debut)

The teams depart for Uruguay on Sunday 3 March 2024.

ALSO READ: End February in style with the over 29 Million SportPesa Midweek Jackpot