Injera, Amonde headline Kenya legends squad to face Ugandan veterans

21st September 2023

The two countries will lock horns in the SportPesa Legends Cup this weekend.

PHOTO| Nondies Legends
PHOTO| Nondies Legends
  • Kenya's rugby legends won the first leg played in Uganda 38-6.
  • The return leg, sponsored by SportPesa, will be played at the RFUEA Grounds on 23 September.
  • Collins Injera, Andrew Amonde and Lavin Asego headline the 26-man squad picked for the match.

Kenya 7s all-time top try scorer Collins Injera will look to go down the memory lane when the Kenyan rugby legends take on their counterparts from Uganda in the SportPesa Legends Cup set to take place at the RFUEA Grounds on Saturday 23 September 2023.

Injera, who touched down a remarkable 279 times for the country during his heydays, headlines the 26-man squad named by head coach Oscar Osir that will seek to complete the double over the Ugandan legends.

Former Shujaa captain Andrew Amonde, who led Kenya to their historic win in the Singapore 7s back in 2016, will also step onto the field for the Kenyan legends and will start as the openside flanker.

Lavin Asego, the first Kenyan to score 1000 points in the World Series, has also been granted a starting berth and will be looking to transport the home fanbase back to his heydays as the country’s deadliest fly-half.

George Mbaye will be the number 8 in the squad that will be captained by Eddie Omondi who will line up as the blindside flanker.

Joel Ng’ang’a, Francis Mutuku and George Asin will form the front row with Oliver Mang’eni and Wilson Kopondo lining up in the second row.

Pete Tyrell will be the scrumhalf with the evergreen Kevin Gachoka and Jay Williams joining Injera in the back 3. Tito Oduk and Victor Sudi will be the starting centres.

Playing in front of their home fans, Kenya’s all-time greats will be out to complete the job they started when they hit the Uganda Veterans 38-6 in the first leg played back in March this year.

In that win, Gachoka, World Rugby Hall of Famer Humprey Kayange and current Kenya Simbas director Moses Mukabane were among the scorers.

The game kicks off at 1500EAT and tickets can be found on this link.

Starting XV

1. Joel Ng’ang’a 2. Francis Mutuku 3. George Asin 4. Oliver Mangeni 5. Wilson Kopondo 6. Eddie Omondi © 7. Andrew Amonde 8. George Mbaye 9. Pete Tyrell 10. Lavin Asego 11. Collins Injera 12. Tito Oduk 13. Victor Sudi 14. Kevin Gachoka 15. Jay Williams


16. Odi Odera 17. Derrick Wamalwa 18. Sean Edwards 19. Lewi Maina 20. Edwins Makori 21. Moses Mukabane 22. Ben Nyambu 23. Francis Theuri 24. Felix Osiemo 25. Solomon Munyua 26. Mike Mutuku